#IMWAYR 12/7/15

I can’t believe it’s my last Monday post! Instead of fretting about what theme to end this semester on, I decided to just grab some books off of the shelf that looked or sounded fun to me- no rhyme or reason!

Here are a few of my favorites:

308238

I loved how this book was partially a non-prose picture story and that it was (mostly) historically accurate. Not to mention, the pictures are so colorful and full of action.

452817

This was a great story about keeping your chin up even if things don’t turn out the way you expected them to.

12663804

This colorful picture-book biography about Josephine, a girl with big dreams and even bigger dance moves. No matter what struggles she faces throughout her life, she never lets her passion burn out.

125507

This book will forever be a favorite of mine- it’s definitely my favorite version of the classic tale.

1381824

I cannot say it better than the Goodreads synopsis so I won’t: “Ringgold recounts the dream adventure of eight-year-old Cassie Louise Lightfoot, who flies above her apartment-building rooftop, the ‘tar beach’ of the title, looking down on 1939 Harlem. Part autobiographical, part fictional, this allegorical tale sparkles with symbolic and historical references central to African-American culture. The spectacular artwork resonates with color and texture. Children will delight in the universal dream of mastering one’s world by flying over it. A practical and stunningly beautiful book.”–(starred) Horn Book.

9 thoughts on “#IMWAYR 12/7/15

  1. It looks like you compiled a great list of books! I remember reading The True Story of the Three Little Pigs, and it has to be a favorite of mine as well! Also, I’ve seen a few other reviews of Tar Beach, I might have to add this to my future read list. Thank you for sharing!

  2. I loved reading The True Story of the Three Little Pigs! I remember in fifth grade, our class held a mock courtroom where the wolf had to plead his case, and their was a jury that had to decide whether or not he was guilty. Looking at it from a teacher’s view, that would be so much fun to do with students! Great post!

  3. I love the art in Tar Beach! Have you seen Patricia Hruby Powell’s picture book biography of Josephine Baker, illustrated by Christian Robinson? One of my top 5 PBs from 2014 and an absolute mystery to me why it didn’t get Caldecott Honors (though it was honored for the Sibert).

Leave a Reply

