Pro Skype

I’ve always really enjoyed watching authors give book talks or interviews via Youtube so to witness a session like this “in-person” through Skype would be awesome!

After reading Kate Messner’s “The Skyping Renaissance,” I was really captivated by the LitWorld’s World Read Aloud Day (WRAD), a Skype event that promotes reading aloud and highlights the importance of sharing stories. I don’t know why I was surprised that Skype was another outlet for such a great Lit community, but I was! Pleasantly surprised!

Now that the Skype technology has evolved I don’t really see any problems with using it in the classroom as long as the students are accustomed to seeing themselves on the screen as well and aren’t easily distracted.

It’s hard to narrow down to one author I would like to Skype with, but for the sake of this post I would have to chose Jon Klassen. I have really enjoyed looking at his picture books this year, and though he is better known as an illustrator, I would still love to have some one-on-one interaction with him and just get to know him more.

16790465

5 thoughts on “Pro Skype

  1. I am right there with you in being Pro Skype! Not only am I Pro Skype, but I’m also pro technology in general in the classroom! I think we as educators need to use what we can to help our students learn!

    1. I completely agree. Also, why fight it when you can use it to it’s full advantage and benefit as a teacher? I mean, who wouldn’t want to be the cool teacher who assigns tweets versus an AR test?!

  2. It’s great to read of some positives as it pertains to technology. I think that Skyping within the classroom is such a fantastic idea! It really does allow the user an endless opportunity at accessing the world. I feel that this sort of technique would prove to be inspiring in regards to education for the students as well. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

