The Importance of Reading Aloud

I think reading aloud needs to become a priority even before children are in school. Children become interested in reading from their parents or guardians reading aloud to them at a very young age… so why would this premise end just because the child can now read on their own? Like Franki says in her post, Building Read Aloud Routine in 3rd Grade, “if I want kids to read books that are right for them independently, I want to share those books often and throughout the year.”

Reading aloud is another way to “book talk” students into reading something different than what they might normally chose on their own. Its the perfect book pushing disguise! I also like how Katherine Sokolowski mentions in her post, READ ALOUDS, that she chooses some of her books based on what that particular class is needing, such as “remembering to Choose Kind.”

That is why I chose my Top 10 Read Alouds as books I think can help kids look through a different lens and learn to be more accepting and understanding of their peers no matter what age group.

  1. Anything but Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin
  2. Knock, Knock: My Dad’s Dream for me by Daniel Beaty
  3. The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
  4. The Pirate of Kindergarten by George Ella Lyon
  5. Luna by Julie Anne Peters
  6. Rules by Cynthia Lord
  7. The Absolutely True Diary of  a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
  8. Forgive me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
  9. Leo the Late Bloomer by Robert Kraus
  10. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green
5 thoughts on “The Importance of Reading Aloud

  1. I think you have great reasoning for choosing your read aloud books! I think it is also important students read books where they can learn to be more accepting of others!

  2. I love this idea of “Book Talk,”you speak of. It creates discussions within classrooms. I can imagining finishing a whole book with a class and there will be so many questions by the end that the students will have collectively analyzed the whole book.

  3. I also agree that implementing the read aloud technique should be an essential aspect of everyday learning within a classroom. In doing so, the teacher has the opportunity to really bring the book to life for their students; inspiring them for further learning discoveries. Great post and thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

