It’s Monday! What are you reading?! #imwayr 11-9-15

110330-book-stack-hmed-8a.grid-6x2-300x225

Last week, I continued with my reading challenge and read the Theodor Seuss Geisel award winners and honor books.

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.   The winner(s), recognized for their literary and artistic achievements that demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading, receives a bronze medal.  Honor Book authors and illustrators receive certificates, which are presented at the ALA Annual Conference.  The award was established in 2004 and first presented in 2006.

The award is named for the world-renowned children’s author, Theodor Geisel. “A person’s a person no matter how small,” Theodor Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, would say. “Children want the same things we want: to laugh, to be challenged, to be entertained and delighted.” Brilliant, playful, and always respectful of children, Dr. Seuss charmed his way into the consciousness of four generations of youngsters and parents. In the process, he helped them to read.

11233988

I always enjoy Jon Klassen’s stories and artwork because it is exactly what I want to emulate in my own work- simple, clean, clever, and silly.

12046971

This book is an easy read that would be great for a child read aloud to his/her parent or even for their classmates during reading circle time.

16650268

This would be a fun read aloud… as long as no one is too embarrassed to “chomp! slurp! chomp!  buuuuuurrrrrrppp!”

6264010

A great book for new readers, Pearl and Wagner: One Funny Day is a level 3 Transitional Reader book in the Penguin Young Readers collection. It includes more dialogue and vocabulary , different points of view, and a more complex storyline.

12875557

And my favorite book of the week featured a CAT named PETE who says “GROOVY!” Need I say more? Besides the obvious, this book was my favorite because it teachers a lesson of staying positive and optimistic which is a virtue for everyone -young and old.

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?! #imwayr 11-9-15

  1. I love The Watermelon Seed!! Or, more appropriately, my two kids LOVE me to read them The Watermelon Seed–especially when I pretend to burp really loud! 🙂 This is such a funny book and reminds me a lot of Mo Willems’ style..definitely a winner for the early grades!

    Which one of these books was your favorite this week?

  2. My husband and I were actually talking about the various book awards last night. He was reading a list and mentioned Theodor Seuss Geisel awards. I told him one of my classmates was reading a bunch of them and this post definitely did not disappoint with more amazing winners!
    I have to say the Watermelon Seed book sounds like one my middle grades students would love too! I read them Beekle this week and they LOVED it – especially the “butt picture page”! What other books have you read that have that middle school, read aloud humor in them? I know they will enjoy hearing more books!

  3. Looks like a lot of fun books! “I Want My Hat Back” seems like a good story. I read another book illustrated by Klassen earlier this semester, “Extra Yarn,” and thought the pictures were very good. I would recommend it to you!

Leave a Reply

