Challenging Myself (Realistically)

I don’t think I need to go on another rant about how difficult this semester has been for me so far in the regards of having time. I don’t have much time that can be used for “wiggle room” – I have to have a very strict schedule in order to get everything accomplished so, this blog is a perfect time for me to reflect on what I have done so far this semester, what I would like to improve on, and how I would like to take it to the next level.

  1. I need to stick to my original plan of going to the library for four hours every thursday. This is my one day off (usually) and I need to use it wisely. I always do homework at this time, but I need to go to the library where I won’t be distracted by cats, or dishes, or anything else. I’ve decided I will go get a nice latte beforehand and make it MY time.
  2. I would like to read more award winners and honor books. It may seem like a cop-out but I can’t chose just one award category that I like best, so until I do I would just like to read a little of everything.
  3. I AM THE WORST ABOUT COMMENTING ON OTHERS’ BLOGS! This really needs to change. I am really good about replying to comments and if you commented on my blog I have definitely checked your blog out and probably even commented on a post or two, but I am awful at going to my Feedly and seeking out posts. I plan to work on that.
  4. Goodreads. What happened? I used to be obsessed with my Goodreads account – always adding books to my shelves and rotating and rating them, but I have been slacking on there too.

I wish all of these flaws could be chalked up to my insane schedule, but unfortunately my little bout with senioritis has a bit of an influence too.

BUT I’m challenging myself to do better. And ideally I would like to continue on with these goals through the semester and beyond.

What are your goals or challenges?

As always, any advice or comments are welcome and highly appreciated!

18 thoughts on “Challenging Myself (Realistically)

  1. I think your challenge is great. Every once in a while we need a little me time even if it involves doing homework, sometimes we just need to get away and focus on our studies. It’s very hard to set boundaries for ourselves especially when you think of a million different things to do instead of what you need/ should do. I know you’ll do great with it and I wish you all the best!

  2. I agree making time to read can be very challenging, and I find that if I do have time to read I like to just relax and not think! I am hoping once volleyball is done in November I will have more motivation, but only time will tell! I find that forcing myself to comment on blogs toward the beginning of the week and all at once helps me get that part of the assignment out of the way!

    1. That’s a great tip Jamie- I’ll have to try to set aside time for commenting as well as for reading in an allotted amount of time rather than just sporadically “getting around to it.”

  3. LOVE the title of this blog post. So true! Being realistic with ourselves is a #1 way not to let ourselves down. I will wish you luck as you get that four hours of good library time. (Good lattes of utmost importance!) I hope you can get back into your Good Reads. What an awesome tool.

    1. Thank you Leslie! Sometimes we just need to be honest with ourselves and not push ourselves too far. I’m hoping after midterms I can dedicate more time to this class, but until then I am just doing what I can. Thank you for the encouragement (:

  4. I really like your idea of spending 4 hours at the library. Get the reading assignment done at once, because then you don’t need to worry about it, you don’t have to schedule that time anywhere else during the week. I might borrow your idea because I’m struggling with time management right now.

  5. Good for you in having a strict schedule to follow. It sounds like a very effective way to get your work and goals accomplished. A designated time a place to read would be very helpful as well. I wish you the best of luck on your reading goals. You have a lot of wonderful ideas.

  6. I think your goals are great, and I have some of the same goals myself. I completely forgot about goodreads and really need to get back into it! I also need to spend four hours in the library because then the week is over with and you can just relax with reading and focus on other homework. Good luck with achieving your goals! I know you can do it!

  7. You have some pretty realistic goals set which will make them achievable! I think there is nothing wrong with wanting to read more award books. I think they are great quality books that we as educators should be informed in. Do you think you will read more picture award books or chapter award books? Good luck!

  8. I am bad at commenting on peoples blogs too if you couldn’t tell, as I am responding to your post this late. It is so time consuming. It takes you at least an hour to read everybody’s comments and then respond to them in a critical way. I’m totally with you!

    1. I’ve just made myself start commenting on five blogs at a time. In fact I make myself comment on the first five posts I read- even if I don’t feel like I have much to say. It has helped a lot and I’ve saved a lot of time (:

  9. Commenting on other blogs is definitely the hardest part of this class. I’v decided that I would make comments on other peoples blogs after I write my blog for the week.

Leave a Reply

