It’s Monday! What are you reading? 9-28-15 #imwayr

110330-book-stack-hmed-8a.grid-6x2-300x225

My reading this past week was dedicated to a Newbery Award Honor book Doll Bones by Holly Black. This book has been on my “to-read” list for almost a year now so I was excited that I finally had the opportunity to finally dig into it!

I loved it.

This book had so many different elements to it – it’s no wonder it made the Newbery honor list.

My favorite aspect of this book was the theme of growing up or not wanting to grow up. Zach, Alice, and Poppy have a “Neverland” worthy adventure to close the chapter of childhood make-believe, but is it all just pretend or are they on a true quest? Black does an amazing job of mixing the children’s imaginations with true events, such as adults seeing a blonde girl with them and historical facts, to keep the mystery going.

15944406

SPOILER ALERT!! 

Do not read any further if you are interested in reading this book.

When Zach’s father threw out his toys and Zach chose not to tell Alice and Poppy the truth but rather let them believe he no longer cared about their game, I was crestfallen. These kids had such sharp imaginations and exercised them everyday after school – so what if they are “too old” to be playing with dolls (I played with my barbies until 8th grade!). Immediately I thought, Just tell them and you can get some new action figures! The story can go on! And then I thought, What if they just continued the story through the “Questions” or just wrote out the stories for each other. That would be more age appropriate! And I was so overjoyed when I read the last page and Zach had come to this exact conclusion himself.

Middle school is a hard time for kids; It’s time to grow up BUT not too fast! I thought that Black did an outstanding job of presenting this dilemma as a 12 year old would.

P.S. There is a cat in this book named “The Party!” 

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading? 9-28-15 #imwayr

  1. I really love this book too for just the reasons you describe. Black manages to explore that very difficult and sensitive transition from childhood to adolescence with such poignancy and sensitivity. Another book I love that explores the same territory is This One Summer, a graphic novel by Jillian and Mariko Tamaki. Let me know if you’d like to borrow it.

    1. I just read the description of This One Summer on Goodreads and it sounds awesome, I would love to read it! I need to come raid your office either this week or next some time! You always have the best recommendations (:

  2. This sounds like a wonderful book! So, does it read like a middle grade book, since it seems to be targeting that grade level, or is it earlier, like 4th or 5th grade? I have not heard of it before, but I think I will have to put it on my To Be Read list! 🙂

    1. I think that it could be read by anyone 4th grade and up! The content is a little more geared towards middle school since that’s kind of the time when we stop playing with toys and start playing sports – not to mention when we start developing crushes! Definitely check it out (:

  3. This seems like a great read so I didn’t finish your last few paragraphs in hopes that it will encourage me to read it myself! This reminds me a lot of Peter Pan with Neverland! I love the cat’s name also 🙂

Leave a Reply

