It’s Monday! And the award goes to…

110330-book-stack-hmed-8a.grid-6x2-300x225

THE CALDECOTT MEDAL (1996)

officer

Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathmann

This sort had a little of everything; vibrant illustrations, comical characters, and a very important lesson and safety tip #101 “Always stick with your buddy!” Officer Buckle is simply and officer and Gloria is simply a dog, but like little Claire says, they make a great team. The two working together really made a difference and kept everyone safe.

CORETTA SCOTT KING AWARD (2014)

16240734

P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia

This book is a sequel to One Crazy Summer, which I could not find in the library; regardless, this story stands alone and Williams-Garcia uses the standard coming-of-age tale, but in an interesting format, being set in the late 1960s. It was a longer read, but it is a beautiful story with lots of culture and history.

THE PURA BELPRE AWARD (2014)

15953630

Niño Wrestles the World by Yuyi Morales

This book was so cute! All little boys love to ruff house and Niño is no exception; he’s a big fan of lucha libre and is a great performer. I loved Morales illustrations for his creative, comic  book style. This is a great book for children to learn a little more Spanish or a little more English in a very fun way.

THEODOR SUESS GEISEL AWARD (2013)

11737017

Up! Tall! And High! by Ethan Long

This book is adorable! I can just hear preschoolers’ voices in these three silly birds! You may not be tall, or, small, or be able to fly, but in then end you help out your friends and accept who you are! I love the classic, fun fold-outs that are placed throughout the book and I don’t know any kid who wouldn’t love this short zany story.

THE SCHNEIDER FAMILY BOOK AWARD (2011)

7095136

The Pirate of Kindergarten by George Ella Lyon

I remember when I found out I needed glasses in second grade. I was thrilled because that meant I got to look just like my mom and dad, but that doesn’t mean that I wasn’t scared. Ginny seemed different to her classmates and her teacher because she ran into things and read funny, but she wasn’t differen’t; she just couldn’t see. Lyon and illustrator Lynne Avril did a marvelous job of showing a child’s point of view with a disability experience.

THE ROBERT F. SIBERT MEDAL (2003)

54333

The Life and Death of Adolf Hitler by James Cross Giblin

I read this book on and off throughout the week and though history isn’t really my jam I can see how someone would enjoy this book. From what I read Giblin’s tone is very straightforward and rational therefore making my opinions of Hitler also straightforward and rational. Though, he was a sadistic and troubled man, he was also quite brilliant and a very powerful figure still today.

THE GOLDEN SOWER AWARD

68788

My Lucky Day by Keiko Kaska

This was such a cute spin on the classic trickster tale of fox vs. pig. Pig ‘accidentally’ knocks on the wrong door; fox’s door and complies to the fox’s wish to eat him, but pig wants to make the experience most pleasurable for the fox (himself) so he talks fox into giving him a  bath, cooking him dinner, and tenderizing his meat with a nice massage. Soon the fox is so tried he passes out and pig goes on home where we find out this was his plan all along.

Did you read any of these titles? Let me know in the comments below!

11 thoughts on “It’s Monday! And the award goes to…

  1. I did not read any of these but I also read a history based book, like the life and death of Adolf Hitler, but the book I read was called Black and White. I’m not a history fan either but some of the things I do find pretty interesting. I don’t know if I’d be able to read The Life and Death of Adolf Hitler but it sounds like an informational read. Would you recommend this book at all or was it pretty gruesome?

    1. I wouldn’t say gruesome because it seemed to focus on Hitler’s strategies and actual life rather than all of the horrific details. I would only recommend this to history buffs to be completely honest.

  2. What a great list of books! I’m a huge fan of Nino Wrestles the World. There’s a video of Yuyi Morales reading the book that I also love. Officer Buckle and Gloria is one of my favorites, too. That disconnect between the words and the pictures is HILARIOUS. Officer Buckle is so clueless.

  3. I also read The Pirate of Kindergarten for this past weeks assignment! I thought this book was so cute and can spark ideas for a lot of cute projects in the classroom! This book can also help students with glasses realize it’s okay and even cool to have glasses!

  4. “Nino Wrestles the World” sounds like a great book. I can imagine that students would be entertained by it. It’s always good to learn a little Spanish too! Good post!

  5. I seen the book, The Life and Death of Adolf Hitler on the list and wanted to read it but the library did not have it. I’m glad you got the opportunity to read this book. It sounds very interesting and I have heard that Hitler was a very brilliant man. It’s too bad he had to be so cruel and troubled. Imagine if his life was different and he could have brought good to history instead of all the bad.

  6. I’ve read “Officer Buckle and Gloria”! I love it a lot, the illustrations are so cute and both of the main characters are so lovable. “P.S. Be Eleven” sounds very interesting, I’ll have to put it on my “to-read” list!

Leave a Reply

