It’s Monday! What are you reading?!

110330-book-stack-hmed-8a.grid-6x2-300x225

Leo the Late Bloomer

9780064433488

I absolutely loved the message in this book; encouraging kids and parents both to remain patient and positive when it comes to learning and growing. Some kids are late bloomers, but that doesn’t mean that they aren’t capable of doing what the other kids are doing, it just means that they need a little more time.

Curious George 

007804

Curious George is a classic book showcasing a curious monkey and his ensuing shenanigans. It’s fun for kids, but it also teaches them that acting on our curiosities can sometimes lead to trouble. It’s kind of sad that he was taken from his home in the wild to live in a zoo or with the man with the yellow hat, but he seems to be happy (:

Where Crocodiles Have Wings

aa31825bc161276c0cdb67ef6795393a

This book was very Dr. Seuss inspired to me. Just wacky, creative, and fun descriptions and scenarios. It was fun to read to my friend’s son who just found the whole book ridiculously funny. A crocodile with wings?! What could be more hysterical?

If You Give a Dog a Donut

th

Obviously, these books are tons of fun for kids and adults both. Cute animals, desserts, crafts, and silly activities keep us all turning the page wondering what is going to happen next.

Too Noisy

0a543ccd0f050efd55a25e91aca78bb4

This book is a good reminder that our families may be too noisy, or too quiet, or too annoying, or too boring, but they are still our families and we would be lost without them.

Can You Make a Scary Face?

34050cd081044f9d041fafd8ca367d51

This is a perfect book for young children like Carter’s age, three to five years old, because it’s interactive!

What have you been reading? Let me know in the comments! 

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?!

  1. This is a great list! I love the sound of “Leo, the Late Bloomer.” It sounds like it would be a wonderful book to read to students to encourage acceptance of classroom diversity! I also like the sound of “Where Crocodiles Have Wings.” I may have to see if I can find that one at the library, because I am always on the lookout for new hilarious books–both for my son, and for the classroom. Kids just love, LOVE funny books, and it makes them so gratifying to read them aloud! 🙂 Would you say all of these books are more preschool-kinder level?

    1. Yeah they are definitely for a younger audience, but they are fun for the whole family! I love reading these books aloud to my friend’s son; so much more fun than reading them alone in the library!

  2. “Curious George” is one of my favorites from childhood. He’s so endearing! 🙂 My kids read the book and watched the TV show on PBS. Good, clean, entertainment! Is there anything else you’ve read that’s now a children’s show on TV?

  3. I love your post! I am such a fan of Curious George but I have not read your other choices. They all sound wonderful. I am especially interested in Leo the Late Bloomer. Remaining patient and positive with someone who is learning can be frustrating. And so often we compare one child to what all the others are already doing and that makes it even worse. I look forward to reading this.

Leave a Reply

