It’s Monday! What are you reading? Top 15 Favorite Caldecott’s

One Cool Friend

OneCoolFriend

My favorite part of this book was the illustrations. They weren’t anything too complex, in fact they were basically composed of squiggles and shading, but that’s my favorite type of illustration because I can do that too! I also really like how thoughts and dialogue were distinguished with the use of thought and speech bubbles.

Creepy Carrots

th

Again, I really liked the illustrations of this book and the use of color to point out important subjects of the story. I thought this book would end with the stalking carrots were just in Jasper’s imagination, making the story a tale for children to relate to whenever they were scared of something, but that was not the case. I don’t think it’s too scary for children, but it is creepy.

Green

th-2

Green is now my favorite color! Gorgeous canvas artwork for a very simple book.

Nana in the City

th-3

Is it sad to say that this book made my top 15 because of Nana’s cats?! I also think that this book exemplifies that giving a child a little boost of confidence, whether through a pep talk or a brave, red cape, can really change their negative outlooks into positive ones.

Viva Frida

th-4

There is so much to appreciate about this book. The illustrations were interesting, part clay animation with a Frida doll in different positions, and part beautiful water colors drawings. Frida’s life story was told in so few words, and it works because the words that Morales chose are so packed with meaning.

Time Flies

585732c379006b2c2774012cd23180ec

No words. A present-day bird in a dinosaur museum. Was it Ben Stiller inspired book or was it all in the birds imagination. It’s up to the readers/viewers interpretation.

Extra Yarn

9780061953385

I’ve actually read this book before and I adore it every time.  It’s not a story about a magical box of yarn, it’s a story about how one little girl can bring so much color and wonder into the world. Kindness and generosity will always trump greed.

Sam & Dave Dig a Hole

14997610

This last page is my favorite part of this book! I can just imagine reading this to children and watching their excitement and frustration with Sam and Dave as they dig in the wrong direction every time. Fun book!

Flora and the Flamingo

th-5

I think that wordless books are becoming my favorite books. Why not let the children make up their own stories? It’s a great way for them to use their imaginations in a literary way.

Journey

Journey_by_Aaron_Becker

AGAIN, no words!! I loved how imaginative the illustrations were, but I appreciated them even more when I read the little blurb about the author at the end. You can definitely see that Becker’s love of history and travel really influences his work.

The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend

th-6

Though the thought of my future child having an imaginary friend scares me (I’m not sure why) I thought that this story was very cute. I’ve never thought about the imaginary friend seeking out the real-world child before.

Sector 7

th-7

David Weisner’s artwork is so stunning that no words are needed to tell this story about a boy’s imaginary world where clouds are created.

My Friend Rabbit

rohmann1

This story is perfect for teaching children patience when it comes to their friendships. They may have a clumsy friend like rabbit, but they have to learn to stay calm and be patient even if trouble seems inevitable.

Blackout

johnrocco-blackout

This story is a precious reminder for us all to take time out of routine to just be close to one another and to not let the business and loudness take over our entire lives. Plus, I loved the graphic novel like layout of this one.

A Ball for Daisy

th-8

I couldn’t say it better than the jacket description: “This is the story of a dog and her ball. Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka brings us a tender and beautiful WORDLESS picture book about what it’s like to lose something special – and find a friend.” This book reminded me of my first day of school when I wasn’t allowed to take my blanket. We all have these objects that bring us comfort, but we soon realize that true friendship isn’t always tangible.

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading? Top 15 Favorite Caldecott’s

  1. Im glad that you saw the beauty of Viva Frida from the get go. I had to go back and reread it after my blog was commented on and then I finally realized why the author wrote it like that. It is also a great way for children to learn a new language a few phrases at a time. I had not read any of the other books that you posted about but I will definitely keep those in mind when it comes to other Monday posts! Which was your favorite??

  2. Good post! I read “Creepy Carrots” as well and agree with you that the illustrations were great. But I have to wonder if some of the very young children might become scared after reading this. I also liked “Green” and enjoyed the many creative green variations.

  3. I love Extra Yarn too. I’m sharing a picture book every day in all of my classes this semester and planned to read that one this week…. only to discover that it has walked out of my office library permanently! Will have to buy another copy. I’ve got a few other Mac Barnett titles that you should read: Chloe and the Lion and Billy Twitters and His Blue Whale Problem for sure. Have you watched Mac’s TED Talk? I think you would love it! Feel free to come by the office and borrow books! I have a number of middle-grade titles that I think would be PERFECT for you!

    1. I LOVE TED TALKS! I’ll definitely have to check it out and all of the titles you’ve suggested to me so far! In fact I think I will set aside a few minutes tonight and add them all to my goodreads! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

