ds106: Not as technical as it sounds; sort of

8119900929_fef0bc322f_o

ds106 is not a difficult, technical, secret society of digital robots, it’s actually a quite simple concept of an open course in Digital Storytelling.

The first objective of the Digital Storytelling course is to develop skills in using technology as a tool for networking, sharing, narrating, and creative self-expression.

The second objective is to frame a digital identity wherein you become both a practitioner in and interrogator of new modes of networking.

The third and final objective is to critically examine the digital landscape of communication technologies as emergent narrative forms and genres.

There is no set start date for ds106 and it never has to end either. Every single day new challenges for creating digital storytelling assignments.

4727131891_f621fbd9c3_b

There are five different types of ds106 including: writing, photography, drawing, audio, and video. Personally, the writing, photography and drawing portions should all be relatively easy for me depending on what the exact challenge is. I like to think that I am a decent writer. I can take a pretty artsy photo on instagram. I 838340467_6ceee6924e_ocan draw something well enough that you would know what it’s supposed to be. But I am not an audio or video girl thanks to my social anxiety disorder and hatred of the sound of my own voice.

Regardless, I think that The Daily Create challenge sounds like a fun way to stay on my creative toes and not succumb to the monotony of regular assignments. The assignments are only supposed to take 15-20 minutes each so the pressure for perfection isn’t even an option. Along those same lines, there are “no registrations, no prizes, just a community of people producing art daily” (The Daily Create).

6 thoughts on “ds106: Not as technical as it sounds; sort of

  1. If worse comes to worse pertaining to TDC, you’ve at least learned how to use a bunch of different corners of the Internet / learned how to flex your creative muscles a bit. I’m a bit tentative on the whole thing for the moment. I already procrastinate way too much when it comes to things like this class – let alone a daily obligation.

  2. I’m so glad I’m not the only person who has reservations about the audio and video challenges. I’ve just never done that kind of stuff before! Hopefully among everyone in the class, we can produce something halfway good in that respect. 🙂 I’d love to hear how you feel about ds106 after doing it for a few days– is it a great creative outlet or just a waste of time? I’m not sure how I’m going to feel about it, but at least I’ll have a change to flex some different brain muscles that usual (if brain muscles are a thing).

    1. So sorry for the late reply Margaret, but I have only been doing The Daily Create challenge for eight days. I already see that I need a lot of skill building in the audio and video areas as I knew I would. I am so tech illiterate sometimes!

  3. The audio and video challenges sound like something all of us chicks are scared of. Thanks society. However, I think realizing that we all are doing something all together should help. Reading your blogs, I’d say that you’re definitely right when it comes to having a good standing on writing, so I think you’ll do fine there. I look forward to seeing some of your stuff though!

Leave a Reply

