Not a Teacher

6773801511_db47ce56f1_zI have never even considered becoming a teacher. I have a hard time articulating what I am trying to tell someone. I can’t even train the newcomer at the coffee shop because I get flustered with myself when I can’t get the words to come out correctly and I get flustered with the inexperienced barista. I know at one point I was the newbie and someone had to teach me the proper technique of assembling a macchiato, but in the moment I don’t have the patience.

So, that being said, it’s hard for me to imagine how I would use these skills to build a passion-based education system.  However, I am a learner and I have had many teachers in my day. My favorite teachers have been passionate about what they do, and as I got to know them better, they had passions outside of the classroom as well. Sometimes they would use their passions, some may call them hobbies, within their lessons, but not always.

Some of my teachers have been very dry, teaching directly from a text book, extracting homework sheets directly from the teachers manual. These teachers were not passionate about their jobs and I was not passionate about learning. It’s a teacher’s contract to help students learn the best way they can.

I also appreciate the concept of “flipping the classroom.” Open the floor up for students to have a discussion. This way students are talking about what interests them on the subject and who knows, they might bring up something that you had never thought of yourself.

I know that I always learn more hands on or visually. Make something. Create something. Show a YouTube video. Show a TED talk. Let the students get on the computer and do their own research, while steering them in the right direction of course.

Not everyone is passionate about the same thing. A teacher doesn’t need to teach according to every student’s hobby in order to get him/her to learn. It’s the teachers responsibility to make every topic relevant to the students’ lives.

8 thoughts on “Not a Teacher

  1. I believe that teachers need to change the lessons or methods to fit the students rather than changing the students to fit the lessons or methods. No one likes learning from a textbook or worksheets, that isn’t sparking the imagination very much. I think that when the lessons are more upbeat and have more student interaction there is going to be a better outcome. I like the idea of flipping the classroom because I think we could learn a lot from our students and may have some eye openers that will make us better teachers.

  2. I love that you mention that a teacher won’t be able to apply everyone’s passion / hobbies to every lesson. That seems to be a pretty common (and unrealistic) expectation of passion-based learning. I understand what you mean about searching for words as a teacher. I try extremely hard to maintain patience and be helpful without talking down to the person or dumbing my words down.

  3. The fact that you are very real in your blog posts is something I can appreciate. You are up front about how you’re not a teacher among a group of people that are aspiring to become teachers. I don’t know that you would necessarily want to be a teacher had you actually had classes where the teacher was passionate about what their learning, but do you think it may have turned out differently had they been? I feel like that can make all the difference.

    1. I have had very passionate teachers so I don’t think that that is the reason why I don’t want to teach… There are many reasons why including my severe anxiety, my impatience, and my independence… I admire teachers and know their importance.

Leave a Reply

