TED Talks

4270045305_f923bc97cf_b

I have become a super fan of TED Talks. I have watched hours and hours of talks from Brené Brown’s: The power of vulnerability to Mary Roach’s: 10 things you didn’t know about orgasm. These videos are not only entertaining but informative. They are witty, smart, intriguing, and emotional. They make you think about things that you don’t necessarily consider on a daily basis, or ever for that matter. I have never thought about what it means to be an introvert (Susan Cain) or how my body language affects how I see myself (Amy Cuddy).

I had never even heard of a TED Talk until this semester! And, after reading

“How teachers can best use TED Talks in class, from the perspective of a student”

I wish that I would have had more instructors use these videos as a tool for my learning sooner. I’ve read Madame Bovary and I don’t know if my study of the novel was as enriched as this bloggers was. Could you imagine the discussion that would come up if the novel was paired with a video such as Mary Roach’s? Maybe that’s a stretch, but I believe that adding a variety of forms of instruction and tools only adds to the students learning.

3386879908_40a9d84af2_z

TED Talks are also another way for students to witness someone else’s perspective besides their instructors, which provides credibility to the lesson being taught.

I also appreciate that the TED organization has made their site extremely accessible and easy to use. The videos are organized by topic, playlists, and even a TED-Ed section to help instructors form lessons with their videos.

I don’t not think that instructors should replace their curriculum with TED Talks. TED Talks cannot stand alone to teach someone about vulnerability for example. However, a TED Talk can get students to ask questions, to explore more avenues of study, to make connections with other forms of literature and more.

6 thoughts on “TED Talks

  1. I agree, Ted Talks are addictive. I watch one and soon I look at the clock and and hour has gone by and I am starting my fourth or fifth video. They are so great and I think they can be a huge asset to the classroom. I have watch a few of the ones you mentioned and thought that they were great. Especially the one from Brene Brown, I love Ted Talks.

  2. Hello! I really enjoyed your post about the TED Talk. Like you, I was quite unaware of what they were or what they did. I had to agree with mostly everything you talked about with variety in the school setting. I think Ted Talks are a great idea, but should not replace a lesson or stand for something within a lesson. Great post! 🙂

  3. I really like the idea of using TED talks to spark discussion and get students thinking and asking questions. I wish they were a bit shorter–no more than 15 minutes. I have a few that I like that are just 5 minutes long.

Leave a Reply

