The Hunger Games- Novel and Film

HUNGER GAMES

 

I was surprised to discover that I really enjoyed this book. I had seen the movie before reading it and didn’t like it much at all. After reading the novel I watched the film again and had a new appreciation for it. The filmmakers did a really good job recreating the strong images Suzanne Collins depicts in the book.

One of my favorite scenes is when the tributes are staring on their platforms waiting for  their opportunity to grab survival supplies at the cornocopia. As the clock counts down to zero the panic and the horror of the first slaughters felt so real as I was reading it and watching it.

Katniss Peeta

I think the movie creators did fantastic  work casting the film as well. A lot of the times books turned movies aren’t as good because we feel the films are miscast, but every character in the movie was just as I imagined them in the book. This could also be because I had seen the movie prior to reading it; however, I still think these actors embodied their characters perfectly.

The romance between Katniss and Peeta seems more genuine in the movie than in the book. In the book she says she is pretending for the cameras and giving the Capitol a show just for the sponsorship. In the movie we don’t hear this inner dialogue so it appears that she is truly developing feelings for him.

Overall I would have to admit that I loved this first book to The Hunger Games trilogy and I can’t wait to read the others!

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games- Novel and Film

Leave a Reply

