Personalized Reading Recommendations for Jaycie PART 3

I’ve become more excited about this series now that I have started reading some of the books on the list!

If I StayIf I Stay by Gayle Forman is a young adult romance novel with death as a sub-genre so  you know I’ll love it and I’ll bawl my eyes out! Goodreads gives it a 3.97 out of 5 stars and acknowledges its heap of literary awards including: An ALA/YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers (2010), South Carolina Book Award Nominee for Young Adult Book Award (2011), Pennsylvania Young Readers’ Choice Award Nominee (2011), ALA Teens’ Top Ten (2010), Milwaukee County Teen Book Award Nominee (2010)
Florida Teens Read Nominee (2010), Delaware Blue Hen Award (2011), Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2012), NAIBA Book of the Year for Children’s Literature (2009), Goodreads Choice Nominee for Young Adult Fiction (2009)

“Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.”

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher again sounds like a perfect Thirteen Reasons Whytear-
jerker for me.  Rated a 4.07 with mystery, death, and romance! Just reading the synopsis is breaking my heart, but I’m hoping that whatever the reasons Hannah had for ending her life are “acceptable” in the end, although the people left behind, such as Clay, are never accepting of a loved one committing suicide. Literary Rewards: South Carolina Book Award for Young Adult Book Award (2010), Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis Nominee for Preis der Jugendjury (2010), Georgia Peach Honor Book Award (2009), California Book Award, Abraham Lincoln Award (2013)

“Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.”

Ignore

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King appears to be a mysterious crime drama! 3.95 stars and an Edgar Award Nominee for Best Young Adult (2011), Printz Honor (2011), YALSA Awards for Best Fiction for Young Adults (2011), Goodreads Choice Nominee for Young Adult Fiction (2010). And after reading the synopsis I am very curious with the title. See for yourself…

“Vera’s spent her whole life secretly in love with her best friend, Charlie Kahn. And over the years she’s kept a lot of his secrets. Even after he betrayed her. Even after he ruined everything.

So when Charlie dies in dark circumstances, Vera knows a lot more than anyone—the kids at school, his family, even the police. But will she emerge to clear his name? Does she even want to?

Edgy and gripping, Please Ignore Vera Dietz is an unforgettable novel: smart, funny, dramatic, and always surprising.”

 

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein was recommended by Dr. Ellington to me twice. The book is now in my possession and is on code name veritydeck to be read next. I’m starting to love learning more about history so historical fiction with a strong female role sounds pretty appealing at this time in my reading life. School Library Journal Best Book of the Year (2012), Agatha Award Nominee for Best Children’s/Young Adult Novel (2012), Edgar Award for Best Young Adult (2013), Printz Honor (2013), Carnegie Medal in Literature Nominee (2013), Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2015), Scottish Children’s Book Award Nominee for Older Readers (2012), Boston Globe/Horn Book Award Honor Book for Fiction (2012), Goodreads Choice Nominee for Young Adult Fiction (2012), YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults (Top Ten) (2013), and a North East Teenage Book Award Nominee (2012) is just a few rewards this book has received and Goodreads gives it a 4.13 rating. Need I say more?

“I have two weeks. You’ll shoot me at the end no matter what I do.

That’s what you do to enemy agents. It’s what we do to enemy agents. But I look at all the dark and twisted roads ahead and cooperation is the easy way out. Possibly the only way out for a girl caught red-handed doing dirty work like mine — and I will do anything, anything, to avoid SS-Hauptsturmführer von Linden interrogating me again.

He has said that I can have as much paper as I need. All I have to do is cough up everything I can remember about the British War Effort. And I’m going to. But the story of how I came to be here starts with my friend Maddie. She is the pilot who flew me into France — an Allied Invasion of Two.

We are a sensational team.”

I need to read ALL of these books ASAP!!

Have you read any of these titles?

Leave a Reply

