Ghost World

ghost-world-comicThis graphic novel was definitely not for me. I didn’t really see much of  a point to it. I hated how the two friends talked to each other and how Enid acts. The girls associate with a lot of sick individuals and their minds are always aloof to anything important. Until Enid is considering going to college and even that seems like a joke to them. I just found the whole graphic novel to be too strange. Maybe I wasn’t in the right mood to read this one, but I don’t think I would recommend it to anyone.

ghost-world-film

But many people must disagree with me because this story by Daniel Clowes is “Now a major motion picture.” IMDb gives the 2011 film a 7.5 rating and an 88/100 Metascore. The movie stars Steve Buscemi, Thora Birch, and even Scarlett Johansson…

I must be missing something… or it just wasn’t my jam.

6 thoughts on “Ghost World

  1. I’ve got this book in my stack of “to reads” and I’m actually looking forward to it. But I suppose I shall see what’s up and see if I agree with you or not. Are you a fan of graphic novels? I’m reading one right now that’s absolutely fabulous, the most beautiful thing I have ever read I think. It’s called “Blue is the Warmest Color.” However, it’s not for the queasy, as there’s quite a few sex scenes.

    1. I was a graphic novel virgin before this course and I LOVE them now! There was just something about this one that didn’t appeal to me. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts about it.

  2. I have not read this book; however, after listening to the book talk in class and discussing the book with you, it may be very difficult for me to read. I am not “judging a book by it’s cover” but I may want to try this book after a while to let my “reading taste buds” get a little older and a little less of a realist point of view. Overall, it was a very nice post.

    1. I thought the cover made it look really interesting, but I was disappointed… It’s nice to read things you don’t necessarily love so you can appreciate the stuff you do love that much more! That’s how I’m trying to look at it anyway.

  3. Okay, after hearing you discuss it during class this might be a book that I will have to pick up later. I agree with the previous comment, I am not one to judge a book by its cover, but this book may sig on my shelf of shame for a little while longer.

Leave a Reply

