It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3-3-14

imwayr

I don’t know what my problem is, but my motivation to read last week was at an all-time low (Spring Fever, perhaps). Anyway, I don’t have a lot to share, but I may as well put what I have read.

Ilyitch    Denisovich

I read Tolstyoy’s The Death of Ivan Ilyitchand Alexander Solzhenitsyn’s One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich for World Lit and thank goodness for Dr. Bahr’s lectures and class discussions on these novels or I don’t know if I would take a whole lot away from them. There are so many questions to ask about these works that it is definitely a team effort to read them.

speak

I finally reread Speak for Adolescent Lit, having read it in high school. It was interesting to read it with a different perspective, being in this class and being older (and dare I say wiser?).

Big Head

 

 

 

I am still reading Does My Head Look Big in This by Randa Abdel-Fattah since last week. For some reason I’m not getting into this book as much as some others I have read so far this semester, but I can’t put my finger on why… I’m hoping to have it finished by the end of this week or by the end of Spring Break at the latest.

 

I am also currently reading The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian and I’m thoroughly enjoying it so far! I’ll have it finished for class by Wednesday. It’s a pretty quick read, not only because of the writing style of Sherman Alexie, but because  your heart goes out to little Junior and you want him to be successful and happy.

PT Indian

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3-3-14

  1. I was interested in reading Speak… It is tough when you don’t feel like reading. Right now I am reading Out of the dust it is tough to get through. Did you read that one yet.

    1. I haven’t read that one yet, but I’m sort of looking forward to it. The Great Depression isn’t something I have a lot of knowledge on which I am rather ashamed of so hopefully I’ll learn a little something from it!

Leave a Reply

