Outside of Our Comfort Zones

Whether we are teachers, parents, members of prestigious book clubs, or just avid readers it is in our best interests to be familiar with a variety of genres and types of books, this means occasionally reading outside of our comfort zones…

Once we are out of school it is up to us to continue our reading through personal goals. A good goal to set for ourselves is reading one book a month that we wouldn’t typically pull off of the shelf.

Personally, I don’t care for fantasy or nonfiction books. This semester I read Ash by Malinda Lo and Bomb: The Race to Build- and Steal- the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin and I enjoyed both of them! The writing style of these two authors really made the genre they were writing in more appealing to me. Now if someone asks for a recommendation in either of those genres I can help.

I am not going to read all of the fantasy books in my local library, but if I read a few I can then do a little research to find read-a-like books that are similar to the ones I actually do read so I can give recommendations that way too. This is a helpful tactic for teachers, parents, and anyone who reads and likes to share with others!

Leave a Reply

