This Just In: Graphic Novels are Cool!!

ArrivalI have found something new to be exited about, graphic novels will officially be making their way into my reading routine. I can’t believe I have lived this long without knowledge of these hidden gems of literature. At first, I picked up Shaun Tan’s The Arrival as my first graphic novel for Adolescent Literature… That book has no words in it. I was intimidated to say the least.

PrimatesSo, Dr. Ellington decided to lend me Primates by Jim Ottaviani and Maris Wicks. This one had words. It was actually a nonfiction graphic novel about the lives of the renowned scientists Jane Goodall, Dian Fossey, and Birute Galdikas. This one got me to thinking about the use of graphic novels in the classroom as a learning tool. I learned that Beowulf is available in graphic form and I definitely remember trudging through that epic in high school. So, why not make it a more enjoyable experience with the help of vivid illustrations?

Another one I picked up was Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge. This would be a perfect graphic novel to show teenage girls that these are not comic books for boys. Paige is a teenage girl who has Pagejust moved to the city. At first she’s upset, but then she uses the experience to invent a new and improved version of herself. Like any teenage girl she struggles with school, her parents, friends, and boys. It’s a very relatable story and has awesome illustrations that mirror  how Paige is feeling and how you feel as the reader.

Matt Phelan’s Bluffton is such a beautiful graphic novel with water color illustrations and such a unique version of a story about small-town boy with big-time dreams. I fell in love with this one. Bluffton

7 thoughts on “This Just In: Graphic Novels are Cool!!

  1. Love this post! So glad you’re reading & enjoying this new-to-you format. I was very skeptical before I started reading graphic novels, and it did take me some time to figure out how to read and enjoy them. But now I read a lot of them. Just finished Laura Lee Gulledge’s second graphic novel, Will & Whit, last night. I liked it quite a bit! I’ll bring it to class on Wed in case you want to borrow!

    1. I can’t believe I have waiting this long to discover the magic of reading a graphic novel. I think I want to add one a week to my reading goal! Any recommendations you have are always welcome.

  2. I’m glad that you liked Page by Paige. I loved that book! The thing that I was most impressed with while reading graphic novels was the emotions that’s the books brought out in me while reading. I have yet to read Bluffton and the Arrival still, but I am looking forward to reading them now after reading your post!

  3. Graphic novels! Yay! I’ve been a fan since as long as I can remember. I hate to say this, especially if Jeff reads this, but I’m not a fan of the superhero aspect of graphic novels. Maybe I just haven’t picked up the right ones…but I find that I enjoy a different form of graphic novels. If you decide that you really love them like I do, I suggest reading “American Born Chinese,” “Saints,” “Boxers,” “Blue is the Warmest Color,” “1140 Rue Royal” and “Beautiful Beasts.” But wait! There’s more! Manga exists as well, though it’s read a little bit differently than your average graphic novel: You read it backwards. For this, you can find many mangas online for free, and I recommend “Death Note” or “D.Gray Man.” Also in the same category falls webcomics! These can be frustrating when you catch up because you wanna know what happens next, but you have to wait until the writer posts again. If you’re into fantasy and/or MMO’s then I recommend http://www.lfgcomic.com, but then if you’re looking for a college experience, I’d check out http://picturesofyou.smackjeeves.com/ <<—the site "smackjeeves" is actually chock full of comics, some very developed, some not so much, but I'm glad you decided you like thi medium! ^__^

    1. Holy smokes! I’m overwhelmed, but definitely appreciate all of the suggestions! I want to read at least (least being the key word) one a week along with my other readings! They’re so much fun and a nice break from some of our required novels.

Leave a Reply

