How Classics Create an Aliterate Society

Donald R. Gallo’s article, How Classics Create an Aliterate Society was dead on! I was an avad reader in high school and I did not enjoy many of the classics either. Like Gallo and so many others point out in high school we do not have the same mindset or values or interests as we do once we reach college, if high school hasn’t scared us out of a secondary education. I had no interest in The Scarlet Letter because I could not relate to it in any way. Whether you enjoy reading or not influences whether you believe its an active or passive activity. I also believe that our friends and family have an influence on our reading habits as well, especially from an early age. Obviously if the only book in your house was a dictionary reading wouldn’t be your first choice as a pleasurable past time.
If high school teachers took the time to find literature geared more toward a high school level, that is still rich in content, students might be more apt to read and actually enjoy it. We need to work our way up to classical…

2 thoughts on “How Classics Create an Aliterate Society

  1. I just don’t understand why, when there is high quality, developmentally appropriate, and highly engaging literature written FOR teens, we insist on assigning books that were not written for teens and that are frequently not developmentally appropriate in our high school classrooms.

    1. The funny thing is, whenever I was in high school I never questioned it once! However, now that I am reading this type of material for my college courses and actually studying them in depth, I am baffled!

Leave a Reply

